Experience of Oil Pulling

Banner image for the blog A Girl from Devon

Ever since finding out more about food intolerances and especially more about deadly nightshade foods, I have taken a greater interest in what I put in my body.  I want to be healthier, I want less rash break outs and fewer bouts of Irritable Bowl Syndrome. So I look to the wonderful world wide web to educate myself. The Chalkboard Magazine has become a great resource to me.

Chalkboard Magazine focus on conscious, health wellbeing living. Based in America, they look at diet, wellness, fitness and trends. They try and test out the latest fads so you don’t have to and their passion for healthy living is apparent.

Recently I learnt from them about Oil Pulling. I was sceptical at first but the more I read about Oil Pulling benefits, I went to Aldi and got myself a jar of Coconut Oil and began the daily practice.

I do not profess to be an expert, I can only share with you my own experience.  I have practiced oil pulling through a once-a-day habit in the evening before bed over 5-7 minutes (before my jaw locks up), I use as much oil I can fit in my mouth once it melts (so around 2 teaspoons) and so far I have experienced:

  • improved skin complexion
  • improved hair glossiness
  • less lank hair bouts
  • smoother digestion
  • Better breath
  • No more bleeding gums
  • plaque reduction

Not convinced of gargling with oil? Take a look at a couple other articles before you write it off completely.  8 ways to detox your mouth; Would you or Wouldn’t you gargle with coconut oil?; also Dr Axe writes about his experience of oil pulling and the benefits.

Remember that once upon a time people thought it would be crazy to use toothpaste to clean your teeth!

 

Leave a Reply

