Delicious crustless quiche 

Eggs are amazing aren’t they! I mean 88 calories per egg and their possibility is endless: fried, scrambled, omelette, frittata, Spanish omelette, quiche, I could go on but I won’t. Most quick egg based meals are down to perspective of what category they fall in to. For example my aunty believes my omelettes are more akin to frittata and I believe her omelettes are more scrambled on mass. So this recipe is what I call a crustless quiche, but you may believe it is more Spanish omelette or something other variation. But here is the recipe anyhow!

I can’t buy a quiche any more because the pastry is wheat based and the gluten free versions use potato starch. I am wheat free and nightshade free so both these options are not viable. A shop brought ‘crustless quiche’ still had a pastry bottom so that wasn’t great for me either. I am going to take you through a journey of my own adaptation!

Here I start by lining the quiche dish with a good layer of cheese. Any cheese you like really, sometimes I use red Leicester, other times mature cheddar. It is roughly 200g with a little kept aside for sprinkling on the top.

I added sliced mushrooms to the base too, to give it some rigidity when serving. Then I added cut up bacon rashers (raw), added a healthy sprinkle of chives (as onion, leek and spring onions all fall into the nightshade category), added 4 large eggs with ½ pint full fat milk whisked over the top.

Finish with the remaining cheese over the top and bake in the middle of the oven at Gas Mark 4 for 20 minutes. Check to see if it is set in the middle, if not leave another 5-10 minutes until lightly brown and firm all over.

So adaptable you can add any filling you like really. But I always start by lining the base with cheese to make sure there is something holding the base together when you serve it.

Leave a Reply

