Delicious: Breakfast bars 2.0

Another recipe inspired by Nigella Lawson’s Simply Nigella; her breakfast bars 2.0 looked a piece of heaven, great for my mid-morning slumps when I need an energy boost.  I’m used to making my own flapjack to take with me to work, but her recipe made me realise that I could make it so much more than just a sweet oat bite.

If you would like to take on Nigella’s original recipe you can find it on the BBC website. Below is my version of it (because I either couldn’t find all the ingredients at my local Morrison’s, or it was simply too expensive on my very small weekly budget).

I swapped cocoa nibs for white chocolate chips; goji berries for dried cranberries; chia seeds for sunflower seeds.

250g medjool dates

2 tsp ground cinnamon

75g dried cranberries

75g pumpkin seeds

150g brown flaxseeds

50g chocolate chips

25g sunflower seeds

25g cornflakes

100g porridge oats (not instant)

A girl from Devon delicious recipe

Leave a Reply

