New Year new beginnings

The New Year is beginning, so you know the drill… it is time to start thinking of your New Year Resolutions! Those little (or big) changes you commit to with a vengeance for a week (if you are lucky) and then promptly dismiss for the next 51.

I gave up on making them about 5 years ago. I was tired of feeling disappointed in myself when by March I realised how I had failed them or given up too easily.  By not setting any I have given up the guilt factor.

I like to look back on the positives of the previous year on New Year day; in 2014 I set up a Jar of Joy that I filled with little notes recording all the amazing things that happened to me, I sat with my family on 1 January 2015 and emptied the jar. It was fun, as we recalled memories we had forgotten along the way. I have continued the Jar of Joy through 2015 and that is what I intend to do in 2016 too.

But as I face 2016, I feel I should acknowledge how far I have come, how I have personally developed over 2015 and consciously acknowledge what further development I want to achieve.  I would like to continue my 30 day challenges to push myself, to continue to learn new skills, I want to continue my path of discovering new practices and festivals to celebrate with friends. My selfish resolution for 2016 is to be more sincere.

Using the principles I have voiced on this blog about kindness, I intend to live by what I say. To find small ways to contribute to the world in a positive way, from sending random notes of appreciation to close friends and family; embellishing my random acts of kindness; leaving more vivid secret notes, and using my imagination to help others more. To live my life more naturally, thinking about the impact of my actions before I do something. In short, I would like to feel good about the life I am creating for myself each day.

In the latter half of 2015 I have made smarter choices when it comes to my mind and body, from starting to practice regular meditation to making sure I drag my arse to the gym 4 mornings a week. These small changes have had a big positive impact on my attitude. I fully intend to take it further by introducing technology free time. Realizing that I do not need to respond to the social pressure of updating my social media every day, several times a day even; that it is better to LIVE life instead.  Several people who inspire me have implemented no-tech days and reaped the benefits, so my Sundays will consist of reading and living and the technology left switched off or at home.

I am excited for 2016 and all that it will bring into my life!

Tell me: What is your experience with New Year Resolutions? Are you making any this year or will you join me on my quest to kick the old New Year Resolution tradition and instead look to personal improvement? I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

