Be the change you want to see in the world

Man has been endowed with reason, with the power to create, so that he can add to what he has been given. But up to now he hasn’t been a creator, only a destroyer. Forests keep disappearing, rivers dry up, wild life has become extinct, the climate’s ruined and the land grows poorer and uglier every day. Anton Chekhov 1897 Russian writer 1860 – 1904

Every week a friend of mine sends me a quote by email. I like to reflect on these quotes during the week and consider what I can learn from them.  A while ago I was sent the above quote and it has been one I have taken quite a bit of time considering. Each time I read it a voice inside me repeats “Be the change you want to see in the world” and it gets louder every time.

But what change do I want to see in the world? Are the changes I want to see similar to other people’s or am I completely different?

When I sit and contemplate this properly, what I would like to see is more kindness. In general; Kindness between strangers, friends, family and colleagues. I was bullied so much as a child then when anybody showed me kindness I was suspicious. I don’t think anyone should ever feel suspicious of kindness – it should be a ‘norm’. I think that is why I leave #secretnotes – to offer a little kindness to others.

I want to see more equality. Acknowledging that every person we meet is a human being. We all have different needs, we don’t have to like each other, we don’t have to approve of each other, but what we should be doing is looking at a person and accepting that they are a human being – just like me! I have needs, challenges, lessons, personal growth – so does that person. Equality should mean that everybody gets what they need with no discrimination related to who they are, what  they are – human.

DEVONSHIRE equality-vs-justice

With that in mind, I am also reminded of what I said in my Q&A with OneMansNote If I were Queen for a day what kindness law would I introduce? I maintain that I would introduce that when you wake up in the morning you must look in the mirror and say THANK YOU to yourself. Thank you for being strong, being there for other people, making a difference. I would also introduce community kindness boards! You can read my full Q&A here.

Tell me: What would be your kindness law? What change would you like to see in the world? I know it is a bit deep, but if you feel like sharing then please do. Perhaps through sharing we can all take one step to change together at a time.

Leave a Reply

