Thoughtful: Sitting on a bench

If you could sit on a bench for 1 hour chatting with anyone from the past or present, who would that be?

Back where I grew up in Devon there was a bench on the top of a hill in a small park behind my house (just off Peak Drive). Whenever I had a difficult day at school or felt that I needed to escape and couldn’t get myself down to Orcombe Point, I would go and sit on that bench. The view looked completely over the town, across to parts of Dartmoor too.  I would usually sit there alone but often have mindful conversations with my Nan.

Recently one of my former teachers passed away – Mr John Hall.  I think, for the moment I would like to return to that bench in Brixington and sit there with him.  Mr Hall guided me through some troubled times, he stood up for me when I needed someone in my corner, he taught me how to get the most out of my knee recovery after I dislocated it.  He was a wonderful man. During the time he was my Head of Year he suffered a brain injury while training. He was away from school for almost a year, learning how to speak, walk, eat, everything again.  Two years later he turned up at our end of school dance and I was one of the few students he remembered. I recall spending a lot of that night chatting to Mr Hall rather than dancing. It is one of my most fondest memories of my school years.

Sitting on a bench

Leave a Reply

