My little cookbook

I am getting used to having a dietary requirement. I never used to, but through most of my twenties I have suffered with IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome), several blood tests and nutrition assessments revealed nothing. My doctor diagnosed the only condition he had left – IBS.  However, through paying for a private assessment I discovered that I have multiple intolerance to certain food groups, rare intolerance. I am mostly vulnerable to Deadly Nightshade foods. I am also intolerant to wheat.

After being diagnosed I set upon my research. I wanted to learn as much as possible about those foods but also how to avoid them in daily life.  Potato/Tomato are the most common foods used in the UK.  Where wheat is removed from flour it is replaced by potato starch – which I cannot have. Tomato is the basis of many sauces, purees, soups, stews, and ‘simple’ dinner choices.

I had to relearn my cooking style with fresh ingredients. although I find many recipes online, or mainly on Pinterest. Many ingredients are not available locally to me or indeed, in the UK as the recipes I find and the websites with information about Deadly Nightshade are American.  So here I intend to post some of my more successful recipes and experiences for living with these limitations.

Leave a Reply

